[6 January/ NZ Farmers Weekly]

A number of primary sector leaders have been recognised in the New Year Honours for their service to the industry.  National President of the New Zealand Rural Support Trust, Neil Bateup, received an Officer of the NZ Order of Merit award for his services to agriculture and the community.  Mr Bateup has taken a strong leadership role in rural mental health initiatives and was elected inaugural national chair of the Rural Support Trust Council.  Ex-Federated Farmers President, Dr William Rolleston, received the Companion of the NZ Order of Merit for his services to the farming community.  Penny Mudford was also made an Officer of NZOM for her extensive involvement in primary sector industry groups.  Others that received awards connected to their contribution to the primary sector included Fonterra research scientist Dr Palatasa Havea, wool researcher Dr Gareth Carnaby and Southland Farmer Stuart Collie.